Speaker Profile: Tay Chiew Boon

by

Chiew BoonPlease welcome Ms Tay Chiew Boon ( Librarian (Arts Collection, ILL & DDS Team) at Lee Kong Chian Reference Library,  National Library Board of Singapore to the conference blog.

1. Can you please give us a taste of what you will be speaking about at the conference?
I will be speaking about the National Library of Singapore’s experience in building an online system for document supply at the National Library, and integrating this system with the library’s remote reference and information service.  The integrated service was soft-launched in February 2009, and my presentation will include the project team’s learning points and observations of the integrated system’s usage rates and staff and end-user receptions for the past sixteen to eighteen months.  

2. In your field of work, what is inspiring, exciting or challenging you at the moment?
Currently, my portfolio covers a lot of reference and research work for library patrons, which although challenging, are often accompanied with a gratifying ‘aha’ moment when we manage to find the answers for patrons desperately digging through every conceivable source.  I am also involved in projects aimed at improving existing library services or building new ones, so the end-results of each project, when it does benefit both library staff and patrons, are infinitely rewarding.

3. If you will be visiting Brisbane for the first time, what are you looking forward to the most? If you are a local or know Brisbane well, please share your favourite thing to do or place to visit in Brisbane.
This is the first time I will be visiting Brisbane, so I am rather excited with the prospect of going to a new place and seeing new things and meeting new people.  The conference proper will be the highlight of my upcoming trip; as this is also the first time I will be presenting a paper in front of a conference audience, I will probably be a bundle of nerves throughout…  Besides that, I will probably also be ploughing through travel guides to check up on the galleries and museums that I’d love to visit and haunt when I am in Brisbane.

4. What is the best experience you have ever had at a library conference?
My most memorable experience of a library conference was actually one of the first conferences I have ever attended, a few months right after I had completed my postgraduate dissertation.  It was the 10th Interlending and Document Supply International Conference in Singapore, and I remember being really green and fresh out of being-in-school mode, sitting in the audience and thinking, ‘I am listening to people whom I have cited in my work speaking about the same issues that we are all facing in libraries all around the world…’  That was a moment of epiphany for me, and it was the first time I was really hit with the fact that we are living in a increasingly globally connected world.

Leave a Reply

