Speaker Profile: Donna Priddle

by
Donna Priddle

Donna Priddle

Donna Priddle from Mackay, Qld, has an interesting story to share at ALIA Access…

1. Can you please give us a taste of what you will be speaking about at the conference?
For the calendar year of 2009 I exchanged jobs, homes, social circles and pets (my life), with a government librarian from Leeds, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. I will be talking about this incredible experience, professional and personal development gained, challenges, and how you can make it happen.

2. In your field of work, what is inspiring, exciting or challenging you at the moment?
I’m currently acting in a Community Services Librarian role, although my background is mainly Information Services. I therefore have the ultimate excuse for getting out and about in the community and advocating the role and resources the library currently has, and could potentially have, to assist every person.

3. If you will be visiting Brisbane for the first time, what are you looking forward to the most? If you are a local or know Brisbane well, please share your favourite thing to do or place to visit in Brisbane.
As I reside in Mackay, Brisbane is often the venue for training and conferences. I will be checking the various theatre calendars shortly for shows I can catch while I’m there, and I always enjoy a wander around the quirky shops in the West End.

4. What is the best experience you have ever had at a library conference?
While in the UK I attended the CILIP Umbrella Conference in Hertfordshire last July. Being held in Europe, the conference was attended by a broad spectrum of librarians and related professions from all over Western, and even some of Eastern Europe. The resulting influences on networking opportunities were truly mind boggling. I had the most amazing conversation with the Head Research Librarian from the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna!

Leave a Reply

